- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > Literature > Four Categories > Historiography > Edicts and Memorials > Huang-Qing zouyi]

Chinese Literature
Huang-Qing zouyi 皇清奏議

The Four Categories of Literature
Huang-Qing zouyi 皇清奏議 "Memorials of the August Qing" is a collection of memorials submitted to the emperors of the Qing dynasty (1644-1911). The most important memorials by ministers submitted to the throne of the were published in several compilations.
The first publication was issued by a scholar called Qinchuan jushi 琴川居士 "Scholar of the Zither River" around 1800 and included 581 selected memorials (zouyi 奏議) in 68 juan "scrolls" made by ministers and officials from the beginning of the Shunzhi reign 順治 (1644-1661) to the end of the Qianlong reign 乾隆 (1736-1795). The memorials are arranged chronologically and contain issues of political, economical and even cultural content. The book was published two times, once during the Jiaqing reign 嘉慶 (1796-1820), and once during the Guangxu reign 光緒 (1875-1908). In 1935 the Republican historian Luo Zhenyu 羅振玉 added 31 pieces from the Jiaqing reign in futher 4 juan, selected from manuscripts. A later publication selected about 600 memorials from the Daoguang reign 道光 (1821-1850) to the Guangxu reign, in 64 juan, imitated the Huang-Qing jingshi wenbian 皇清經世文編 and included memorials to much more subjects, like law, institutional reform, foreign affairs, household registration, military, and much more.


Source: Guo Songyi 郭松義 (1992), "Huang-Qing zouyi 皇清奏議", in Zhongguo da baike quanshu 中國大百科全書, Zhongguo lishi 中國歷史 (Beijing/Shanghai: Zhongguo da baike quanshu chubanshe), Vol. 1, p. 403.

July 3, 2010 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail
Chinese Literature over time