- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > Literature > Four Categories > Historiography > Administration and Policy > Ming dianhui]

Chinese Literature
Ming dianhui 明典彙

The Four Categories of Literature
Ming dianhui 明典彙 "Collection of Canons of the Ming Dynasty", original title Guochao dianhui 國朝典彙 or Mingchao dianhui 明朝典彙, is an official collection of rituals and ceremonial regulations compiled during the Ming period by Xu Xueju 徐學聚, courtesy name Xu Jingyu 徐敬輿. He came from Lanxi 蘭溪, Zhejiang, obtained his jinshi degree during the Wanli reign XXX and was XXX 右僉都御史巡撫 of Fujian, and later rose to the office of Vice Censor-in-Chief (fu duyushi 副都御史). The 200 juan "scrolls" long compendium includes regulations for court rites that were issued between the foundation of the Ming and the reign of Emperor Muzong 明穆宗 (the Longqing Emperor 隆慶, r. ). The first part of the book (33 juan) represents the basic guidelines for the administration of a state (Chaozheng daduan 朝政大端) and includes a lot of edicts regulating the proper conduct of court rituals. The rest of the book is arranged according to jurisdictional matters that were subject to the Six Ministries. The Ming dianhui is therefore a rich source not only on court rituals themselves, but also such concerned with administrative, economical and military matters. Most of the text is based on sources in the "veritable records" (shilu 實錄, see Mingshilu), an official chronicle of imperial edicts, but also on inofficial histories (baishi 稗史).


Source: Wu Feng 吳楓 (ed. 1987), Jianming Zhongguo guji cidian 簡明中國古籍辭典 (Changchun: Jilin wenshi chubanshe), p. 498.

January 23, 2014 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail
Chinese Literature over time