- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > Literature > Four Categories > Historiography > Regional Histories > Nanming yeshi]

Chinese Literature
Nanming yeshi 南明野史

The Four Categories of Literature
Nanming yeshi 南明野史 "Inofficial history of the Southern Ming dynasty", also called Wufan shilu 五藩實錄 "Veritable records of the Five Feudal Lords" or Mingmo wu xiao shi 明末五小史 "The five small histories of the end of the Ming", is a history of the last princes of the Southern Ming dynasty 南明 (1644-1661) written by a Qing period 清 (1644-1911) historian called Nansha sanyu shi 南沙三余氏. The small book narrates the histories of the princes Zhu Yousong 朱由崧 (Prince of Fu 福王), Zhu Yihai 朱以海 (Prince of Lu 魯王), Zhu Yujian 朱聿鍵 (Prince of Tang 唐王), Zhu Yuyue 朱聿𨮁 (second Prince of Tang) and Zhu Youlang 朱由榔 (Prince of Gui 桂王). Although the Wufan shilu is relatively small and not very well structured, it includes important sources about the history of the Southern Ming dynasty. The most detailed passages are those describing the rule of Prince Tang, and the decision of Zheng Chenggong 鄭成功 to cooperate with the Southern Ming rulers. The oldest surviving version is a manuscript from the Qianlong reign 乾隆 (1736-1795). It was printed in 1739, with a length of 5 juan "scrolls". It is included in the collectaneum Yishi shiyu zhai 異史氏寓齋 of Liulichang 琉璃廠. The edition by the Shangwu yinshuguan press 商務印書館 was first called Nanming yeshi, and this title is also used by the source collection Ming-Qing shiliao huibian 明清史料匯編 that was published by the Wenhai press 文海出版社 in Taibei.


Source: Li Xueqin 李學勤, Lü Wenyu 呂文鬰 (ed. 1996). Siku da cidian 四庫大辭典 (Changchun: Jilin daxue chubanshe), Vol. 1, p. 896.

September 7, 2011 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail
Chinese Literature over time