- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > Literature > Four Categories > Historiography > Historical Events in their Entirety > Pingding sanni fanglüe]

Chinese Literature
Pingding sanni fanglüe 平定三逆方略

The Four Categories of Literature
Pingding sanni fanglüe 平定朔漠方略 "Military annals of the pacification of the three rebels" is the history of the war of the Qing dynasty 清 (1644-1911) against the Three Feudatories from 1673 to 1681, local potentates that had challenged the power of the Qing dynasty. The 60 juan "scrolls" long book was compiled on imperial order by Ledehung 勒德洪, Grand Academician and highly entrusted minister of the Kangxi Emperor 康熙 (1662-1722).
In the first decades of the Qing period, three generals of the Ming, Wu Sangui 吳三桂, Shang Kexing 尚可喜 and Geng Jingzhong 耿精忠, had submitted to the Qing and were rewarded with so-called feudatories in the south which gave them virtually economical and political independence. When the Kangxi Emperor mounted the throne he decided to disempower the three feudatories. The three of them thereupon joined in rebellion and declared their independence from the Qing dynasty. It took the Manchus eight years to put down the rebellion and to bring southern China under their control. The book was compiled in a very long process of selecting the right material and was only finished in 1686.
The book is included in the collectaneum Siku quanshu 四庫全書.

Source: Li Xueqin 李學勤, Lü Wenyu 呂文鬰 (ed. 1996), Siku da cidian 四庫大辭典 (Changchun: Jilin daxue chubanshe), Vol. 1, p. 911.

May 1, 2011 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail
Chinese Literature over time