- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > Literature > Four Categories > Historiography > Annals and Chronicles > Yuanshi xubian]

Chinese Literature
Yuanshi xubian 元史續編

The Four Categories of Literature
The Yuanshi xubian 元史續編 "Continuation of the History of the Yuan Dynasty" is a history of the Yuan dynasty 元 (1279-1368) written by the Ming period 明 (1368-1644) scholar Hu Cuizhong 胡粹中, personal name Hu You 胡由 (Cuizhong is his courtesy name). He came from Shanyin 山陰 (modern Shaoxing 紹興, Zhejiang) and was right aide (you zhangshi 右長史) of the Prince of Chu 楚 during the Yongle reign 永樂 (1403-1424). Hu Cuizhong was an amateur historian, but he was aware that the official history of the Mongolian Yuan dynasty, the Yuanshi 元史, was not very well balanced. While the political rise and the campaigns of the dynastic founder Čingghis Qan (temple name Yuan Taizu 元太祖, r. 1206-1227) were described in great detail, the "peace government" of the Mongols, beginning with the Great Khan Temür (Yuan Chengzong 元成宗 , r. 1294-1307) was neglected. He therefore compiled his 16 juan "scrolls" long supplement to fill this gap. The book is written in an annalistic style. It begins in 1286, in the late years of Qubilai Khan (Yuan Shizu 元世祖, r. 1260-1294) and ends with the reign of Toqōn Temür (Yuan Shundi 元順帝, r. 1333-1370), the last emperor of the Yuan dynasty. The text consists of core sentences and commentaries to it, and so imitates the structure of Zhu Xi's 朱熹 moral history Tongjian gangmu 通鑒綱目. According to the descriptive bibliography Siku quanshu zongmu tiyao 四庫全書總目 the historiographical value of the book is not very great. It was printed during the Yongle reign and is included in the imperial collectaneum Siku quanshu 四庫全書.

Source: Li Xueqin 李學勤, Lü Wenyu 呂文鬰 (ed. 1996), Siku da cidian 四庫大辭典 (Changchun: Jilin daxue chubanshe), Vol. 1, p. 933.

1. 元世祖至元十三年[起] (1276) to... 2. 十六年[起] (1279) to... 3. 二十年[起] (1283) to... 4. 二十六年[起] (1289) to... 5. 元成宗元貞元年[起] (1295) to... 6. 四年[起] (1298) to... 7. 元武宗至大元年[起] (1308) to... 8. 元仁宗皇慶元年[起] (1312) to... 9. 元英宗至治元年[起] (1321) to... 10. [元泰定皇帝]致和元年[起] (1328) to... 11. [元文宗]至順元年[起] (1330) to... 12. 元順帝元統二年[起] (1334) to... 13. 至元元年[起] (1335) to... 14. [至正]十一年[起] (1351) to... 15. 十七年[起] (1357) to... 16. 二十四年[至]二十八年 (1364-1368)

October 23, 2013 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail
Chinese Literature over time