- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > Literature > Four Categories > Historiography > Biographies > Zhuge Zhongwu shu]

Chinese Literature
Zhuge Zhongwu shu 諸葛忠武書

The Four Categories of Literature
Zhuge Zhongwu shu 諸葛忠武書 "Book of Master Zhuge, the loyal and martial" is a collection of the writings of the Three Kingdoms period 三國 (220-280) strategist and politician Zhuge Liang 諸葛亮, compiled by the Ming period 明 (1368-1644) writer Yang Shiwei 楊時偉. Yang lamented the superficial character of Wang Shiji's 王士驥 collection Wuhou quanshu 武侯全書 "Complete writings of the Martial Marquis" and therefore began compiling a new books of the collected works of Zhuge Liang. He retained important writings included in the Wuhou quanshu, such as the Lian Wu 連吳 "Alliance with Wu", Nanzheng 南征 "The Southern campaign", Beifa 北伐 "The northern expedition", Diaoyu 調御 "Adjusting and ruling", Fajian 法檢 "Sparingness of the penal law" and Yishi 遺事 "Matters of heritage" and added a chronicle (Nianpu 年譜), a short biography (Zhuanlüe 傳略), and the writings Shao Han 紹漢 "Continuance of the Han dynasty" and Zashu 雜述 "Miscellanea", to a total of 10 juan "scrolls". Yang's book emends errors included in earlier publications and eliminated writings that were wrongly attributed to Zhuge Liang. The Zhuge Zhongwu shu is a combination of collected writings with a lot of biographical information. It has formerly been published in a joint edition with the collected writings of the Jin period 晉 (265-420) poet Tao Yuanming 陶淵明 as Zhongwu-Jingjie erbian 忠武靖節二編. The Zhuge Zhongwu shu is included in the imperial collectaneum Siku quanshu 四庫全書.


Source: Li Xueqin 李學勤, Lü Wenyu 呂文鬰 (ed 1996), Siku da cidian 四庫大辭典 (Changchun: Jilin daxue chubanshe), Vol. 1, p. 983.

March 6, 2012 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail
Chinese Literature over time