- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > Literature > Four Categories > Historiography > Geography > Huang-Qing zhigong tu]

Chinese Literature
Huang-Qing zhigong tu 皇清職貢圖

The Four Categories of Literature
The book Huang-Qing zhigong tu 皇清職貢圖 "Descriptions from the tributary offices of the August Qing" is a geographical description about foreign countries and Non-Chinese peoples within the borders of the Qing empire 清 (1644-1911). This book is 9 juan "scrolls" long and was compiled under the supervision of Fuheng 傅恒. A first draft was finished in 1759, an additional part was added six years later. In the first juan, foreign countries are described with whom the Qing court had a kind of official relationship, especially Korea, Japan, England, France, the Netherlands, and Russia. The other scrolls give an account on peoples that were not Chinese but who where incorporated into the Qing empire during the 17th and 18th centuries, like Tibetans, Uyghurs, and other peoples in the northeast and the provinces of Fujian, Hu-Guang (modern Hunan), Guangdong, Guangxi, Gansu, Sichuan, Yunnan and Guizhou. More than 600 illustrations in two scrolls, made by Jin Tingbiao 金廷標, give a deep impression of both the minority peoples of Qing China, and its view of foreign countries and their representants. The publication of this book can be seen in the context of the Qianlong Emperor's claim to be a universal ruler at least in East Asia, governing many different peoples with a different history and society.


Source: Liu Ruzhong 劉如仲 (1992), "Huang-Qing zhigong tu 皇清職貢圖", in Zhongguo da baike quanshu 中國大百科全書, Zhongguo lishi 中國歷史 (Beijing/Shanghai: Zhongguo da baike quanshu chubanshe), Vol. 1, p. 402.

July 17, 2010 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail
Chinese Literature over time