- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > Literature > Four Categories > Historiography > Annals and Chronicles > Huangwang daji]

Chinese Literature
Huangwang daji 皇王大紀

The Four Categories of Literature
Huangwang daji 皇王大紀 “Great chronicle of the emperors and kings” is a history written by Hu Hong 胡宏 (1105 – 1161, courtesy name Renzhong 仁仲). His 80 juan long book was finished in 1141. In the two first of the three parts, history is narrated from the times of the three August Rulers (Sanhuang ji 三皇紀) and the mythical Five Emperors (Wudi ji 五帝紀). The second part (Sanwang ji 三王紀) is a chronicle of the three royal dynasties Xia, Shang and Zhou. It is based on the data used in Shao Yong’s 邵雍 (1011 – 1077, courtesy name Yaofu 堯夫, style Anle xiansheng 安樂先生 or Baiyuan xiansheng 百源先生, posthumous title Kangjiegong 康節公) philosophical history Huangji jingshi 皇極經世, and can be said to be much more reliable than Lu Mi’s 羅泌 (1131 – 1189, courtesy name Zhangyuan 長源) ancient history Lushi 路史. The Huangwang daji is important because it includes information not found in other texts, yet some of these stem from apocryphal texts and are therefore not very reliable. Furthermore, the author added critical comments in an appendix. The book was printed during the Shaoding 紹定 reign (1228 – 1233), in a print that was reproduced by Chen Bangzhan 陳邦瞻 (d. 1623) in 1611. References: Siku quanshu.

Sources: XXX

February 21, 2016 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail
Chinese Literature over time