- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > Literature > Four Categories > Historiography > Regional Histories > Shiguo chunqiu]

Chinese Literature
Shiguo chunqiu 十國春秋

The Four Categories of Literature
Shiguo chunqiu 十國春秋 "Spring and Autumn of the Ten States" is a history of the Ten States 十國 (902-979) that ruled over southern China after the downfall of the Tang dynasty 唐 (618-907). The 114 juan "scrolls" long book was written by the Qing period 清 (1644-1911) scholar Wu Renchen 吳任臣 (?-1689) who took part in the compilation of the official dynastic history of the Ming 明 (1368-1644), the Mingshi 明史. His collected writings are included in the book Tuoyuan shiwen ji 托園詩文集.
The main reason for the compilation of this book is the negligence with which the Ten States are dealt with in the official dynastic histories of this period, the Jiu Wudaishi 舊五代史 and Xin Wudaishi 新五代史. Wu Renchen took over the biographic-thematic style (jizhuanti 紀傳體) of these histories and compiled a new history, based on a lot of historiographical and non-historiographical sources.
It also includes family trees of each state (Jiyuan shixi biao 紀元世系表), a geographical treatise (Dili zhi 地理志), a table of military administrative regions (Fanzhen biao 藩鎮表), and a table of the occupation of the highest state offices (Baiguan biao 百官表).
The Shiguo chunqiu is included in the collectanea Siku quanshu 四庫全書.

1-14 吳 Wu
1-20 南唐 Southern Tang
1-13 前蜀 Former Shu
1-10 後蜀 Later Shu
1-9 南漢 Southern Han
1-10 楚 Chu
1-13 吳越 Wu-Yue
1-10 閩 Min
1-4 荆南 Jingnan
1-5 北漢 Northern Han (in northern China)

Source: Li Xueqin 李學勤, Lü Wenyu 呂文鬰 (ed. 1996), Siku da cidian 四庫大辭典 (Changchun: Jilin daxue chubanshe), Vol. 1, p. 1048.

May 21, 2011 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail
Chinese Literature over time