- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > Literature > Four Categories > Historiography > Biographies > Hanmo yingxiong zhuan]

Chinese Literature
Hanmo yingxiong zhuan 漢末英雄傳

The Four Categories of Literature
Hanmo yingxiong zhuan 漢末英雄傳 "Heroic biographies of the late Han period" is a collection of biographies of persons living during the transition period from the Later Han 後漢 (25-220 CE) to the Wei 曹魏 (220-265). The book was compiled by the scholar Wang Can 王粲 (117-217), one of the so-called Seven masters of the Jian'an reign (Jian'an qizi 建安七子). The book was already partially lost during the Tang period 唐 (618-907), when of the 10 juan "scrolls" only 8 survived. The surviving parts include the biographies of 44 persons in Wang Shizhen's 王世貞 version and 55 in the version Huang Shi 黄奭 had at hand, like that of Cao Cao 曹操, Zhang Jian 張儉, Lü Bu 呂布, Gongsun Zan 公孫瓚 or Yuan Shao 袁紹.
The book is included in the collectanea Hanxuetang congshu 漢學堂叢書, Han-Wei congshu 漢魏叢書, Shuofu 說郛 and Wuchao xiaoshu 五朝小説, where the title is Yingxiong jichao 英雄記鈔, which is quite probably also the original title of the book.


Source: Li Xueqin 李學勤, Lü Wenyu 呂文鬰 (ed 1996), Siku da cidian 四庫大辭典 (Changchun: Jilin daxue chubanshe), Vol. 1, p. 972.

March 6, 2012 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail
Chinese Literature over time