- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > Literature > Four Categories > Historiography > Alternative Histories > Tangji]

Chinese Literature
Tangji 唐紀

The Four Categories of Literature
The book Tangji 唐紀 "Records of the Tang" is an alternative history of the Tang period 唐 (618-907) written by the Ming period 明 (1368-1644) scholar Sun Que 孫慤. The text is mainly based on the official dynastic histories of the Tang dynasty, the Jiutangshu 舊唐書 and the Xintangshu 新唐書. In his revision of the text Sun Que tried to eliminate errors and contradictions. The book is not divided into juan "scrolls" but consists of two parts, an annalistic part, and a biographic part. Tables of offices and treatises are not included. Sun Que provided his readers with indications of those of his sources that go beyond the two official Tang histories.

Source: Li Xueqin 李學勤, Lü Wenyu 呂文鬰 (ed. 1996), Siku da cidian 四庫大辭典 (Changchun: Jilin daxue chubanshe), Vol. 1, p. 929.

April 28, 2011 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail
Chinese Literature over time