- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > Literature > Four Categories > Historiography > Alternative Histories > Yuanshi leibian]

Chinese Literature
Yuanshi leibian 元史類編

The Four Categories of Literature
Yuanshi leibian 元史類編 "Topically arranged history of the Yuan dynasty" is a history of the Yuan period 元 (1279-1368). The 42 juan "scrolls" long book was compiled by the early Qing period 清 (1644-1911) scholar Shao Yuanping 邵遠平. Shao came from a family of historiographers and has compiled the Xu hongjian lu 續宏簡錄, a sequel to Shao Jing's 邵經 Hongjianlu 宏簡錄. That book, later known as Yuanshi leibian was finished in 1696. It imitates the structure of the alternative universal history Tongzhi 通志 but only includes 10 juan of imperial biographies (ji 紀) and 32 juan of normal and collective biographies (zhuan 傳). Informations about astronomy, geography and other matters, which are normally dealt with in treatises, are integrated chronologically into the biographies. Shao Yuanping mainly used the material of the official dynastic history of the Yuan period, the Yuanshi 元史, and restructured it according to his conception, but also added materials not included in the Yuanshi, like statements to be found in the administrative history Yuan dianzhang 元典章. The Yuanshi leibian is valubale because Shao has added his own annotations to the original text. The Yuanshi leibian was printed by the Saoyeshanfang Studio 掃葉山房.

Source: Li Xueqin 李學勤, Lü Wenyu 呂文鬰 (ed. 1996), Siku da cidian 四庫大辭典 (Changchun: Jilin daxue chubanshe), Vol. 1, p. 934.


March 11, 2011 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail
Chinese Literature over time